you're reading...
Church, Fundamentalism, Michael and Debi Pearl, Uncategorized

Tim Challies Reviews “Created To Be His Help Meet”


In case you missed it, Tim Challies has written two excellent posts reviewing Debi Pearl’s “Created To Be His Help Meet.” Check them out here and here.

I would love to hear your thoughts about his posts as well as any thoughts/stories you can share pertaining to this book.

Okay, I’ll start!

I was given this book from my church. In fact, all of the women who worked at this church were given it, whether or not they were married. That seemed very odd to me at the time..

I read it and even bought it for a woman going through a rough patch in her marriage. It wasn’t until I started questioning fundamentalism and a friend of mine was counseled to leave her abusive husband that I took a second look at it. I mainly wanted to see what Debi Pearl had to say to women with abusive husbands and if my church was following her advice. As it turned out, the church was not, and that was a good thing. Why, then, did this same church distribute this book so widely, even to this same friend who was told to leave her husband and, as a result, our church? I have no idea.

It was at this time that I started questioning the counsel given in their parenting book, To Train Up a Child, but that’s another post!

Since then, I’ve learned a lot from women like Rachel Held Evans about what the word “help meet” really means.

Okay, your turn! Have you at one point believed the best about “Created To Be His Help Meet” and since changed your mind? Have you been cautioned to never read this book? What is your story? I’d love to know!

Discussion

One thought on “Tim Challies Reviews “Created To Be His Help Meet”

  1. I suppose what each one gets out of books may vary, but my take was nothing like yours. It offered a great deal, and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Posted by Cyndi Winzeler | March 5, 2014, 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archived Posts

