you're reading...
Grace

Facing fear in the dawning of a new year


I woke up this morning after having strange dreams. I don’t dream often, so they kinda stuck with me throughout the day.

In my first dream, I was with my family on a vacation, I guess, looking into an aquarium. I could see everything in the water and watch the sea life as it swam around. It was very enjoyable to watch. But then the next thing I knew, I was sitting on something that was floating on water and I could see things floating near the top of the water and I did everything I could do avoid touching those things with whatever I was floating on. Whereas the water before was not something I feared, in those moments I was very fearful of what I could not see.

In my next dream, I was again with my family and we were headed somewhere in a building I’m not familiar with. Something happened and we were delayed and I was worried we weren’t going to make it in time. Wherever we were headed, it was going to be spectacular. But I remember as we were approaching our destination, at the very last minute, our plans were changed for us and we ended up somewhere we didn’t expect. I woke up still reeling from the surprise.

I know that probably sounds completely strange. My dreams are strange to me too! And don’t worry, I am not into interpreting dreams or anything.

But it made me think: What am I fearful of? That’s not something I often think of until I’m faced with something I fear.

As I head into the New Year, I have hopes and dreams for this new year. It’s a chance to change old habits, to start new habits and traditions, to grow, to learn. But perhaps it’s also a chance God is giving me to face my fears, or at least discover what they are so I can daily place them in Hands.

I fear what I cannot see. I fear change when it’s not on my terms. I wish I could know what the future holds, but I can’t. Instead I must rest and trust, two things I struggle with.

What about you, dear friend? What is God impressing on your heart today? Is it to face your fears and trust Him with what you don’t know, what you can’t see?

May we trust His ever-loving heart today.

“I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.” Jer. 29:11

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

