you're reading...
Grace, Grief and Loss

An Ending and a Beginning


My mind has been a little bit scattered lately. It’s been a little harder to concentrate on things. I wish my brain could go on auto-pilot until next Monday.

You see, a year ago, on October 2nd, my grandma passed away.

October 2nd will always be a Saturday for me. It was on that day I was looking to buy airline tickets to go see her for her last days. I wanted one last chance to see her, to tell her how much I loved her, to say goodbye.

I did not have that chance. 

She passed away that night. It was a hard way for me to end that chapter of my life, when I had both sets of my grandparents still living.

But God used her passing to teach me more about His grace because a day before she died, she accepted Christ as her personal Savior. It wasn’t a “Romans Road” thing; there was no “Sinner’s Prayer.” All she said in response to my mom telling her that Jesus loved her was, “Thank You, Jesus, for my salvation.”

“Thank You, Jesus, for my salvation.”

A simple statement, yet so profound.

Even in her final days, God still pursued her. And in His sovereignty, she became His child, hours before she met Him face to face.

I was blown away when I sat down and thought about that. “For by grace you have been saved through faith…” He gives us grace. He gives us grace. Grace is from Him.

Salvation is not about how sorry we are for our sin. It’s not about what words we pray. It’s not about what verses are shared. It’s about Him and His grace.

It was at that time I began to see God in a whole new way. I began to see Him as a God of grace and how His grace doesn’t end at salvation, but it continues to impact my life, even today.

So while this weekend reminds me of her passing, it also serves to remind of God’s incredible grace and how He has changed my life in an amazing way.

How did God’s grace get a hold of your heart?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

