you're reading...
Church, Fundamentalism

When Your Church Hinders You Spiritually


I’ve gone to church since I was two years old. Early on, my mom would send my brother and me to church, though eventually, we all went as a family. And, yes, there was one short period of time when we didn’t go to church regularly.  But looking back, I still consider myself as one who’s “gone to church my whole life.”

Growing up, I always enjoyed going to church. Most of my friends were there, and I was involved in numerous church activities. I participated in AWANA, went to VBS, sang in numerous choirs, went on missions trips, was active in my youth group, and helped out in AWANA and VBS as a teen and young adult.

So the choice to become more involved in a church after marrying my husband was a natural decision. And the habit of attending church as often as I am accustomed to was never an issue.

Until recently.

Now I am not one of those people who gets all bent out of shape about church attendance. How often someone attends is between him and the Lord. I don’t judge someone spiritually based on their church attendance. And I don’t care even what services someone attends. If someone works during a Sunday service or is just unable to come, fine. If the same holds true for other events and activities, fine.

This change in my life does not change how often I attend. It does change what service I will no longer be attending for a very specific reason. And this reason is something I’ve never wrestled with before.

I no longer feel spiritually fed during our morning service.

So, for that reason, I’m going to be helping out with a children’s class during that time. I am choosing to do that because I see an opportunity to help out and take back what I want my Sundays to be like. I don’t want to be frustrated, emotionally and spiritually and I know lately I have been.

I know that the church is not supposed to meet all my spiritual needs and I don’t expect it to. But for the past few weeks, I’ve noticed a significant spiritual frustration that I feel on Sundays that I don’t feel during the week. There are a couple of contributing factors, mainly the music and the messages. Songs that were written to be upbeat are slowed down and sound more formal, which ruins the song for me and I end up not worshipping. It’s even worse when I look around and people are barely singing. Is the purpose to have Bob Jones University acceptable music or is it to worship God? And you know it’s time for a change when you disagree with your pastor’s messages more than you agree with them.

So make a change I will.

Have you ever experienced “spiritual frustration” before? What did you do about it?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

